Národní sportovní agentura

International relations

Up-to-date information and documents are available under the European Union, Council of Europe and UNESCO subsections of the present website.

The European Union

The European Union is a political and economic union that aims to improve cooperation in Europe, often described as a sui generis political entity that shares some of the powers of an international organization and some of the powers of a unified state. It was founded on 1 November 1993 and consists of 27 member states. It guarantees its residents liberty, law and security without internal borders, as well as the freedom of movement. The European Union has an internal single market and is committed to the sustainable development of Europe.

The Council of Europe

The Council of Europe is an organization that is independent of the European Union. It seeks to achieve a common resolution of the members’ economic, social, cultural, scientific, legal and administrative problems by mutual discussion. It also seeks to maintain and develop fundamental human rights and freedoms. The Council of Europe is based in Strasbourg, France. One of the institutions administrated by the Council of Europe is the European Court of Human Rights.


The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, consisting of 193 member states and 11 associate members, has been established to advance education, natural and social/human sciences, culture and communication/information.

Skip to content